CHAIRMAN'S PROFILE, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister   
Dr. C. Rangarajan

Dr. C. Rangarajan
Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister
Office : Vigyan Bhawan, “E” Hall, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi 110 011
Residence : AB -13, Tilak Marg, New Delhi 110 001
Tel No : (O) 23022311 (O) 23022313 (R) 23383842 (R) 23389910 (F) 23022318
Email : c.rangarajan[at]nic[dot]in

Date of Birth: 5th January, 1932

Place of Birth: Ariyalpur – Tamil Nadu

Marital Status: Married

Educational Background: Ph.D, University of Pennsylvania, 1964

Positions Held:

  • Chairman, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister since 2009.
  • Member, Rajya Sabha (2008-09)
  • Chairman, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (2005-08)
  • Chairman, Twelfth Finance Commission (2003-04)
  • Governor, Andhra Pradesh (1997-2002) with an Additional Charge of Governor, Orissa (1998-99) and Governor, Tamil Nadu (2001-02)
  • Governor, Reserve Bank of India (1992-97)
  • Member, Planning Commission (1991-92)
  • Member, Tenth Finance Commission (1992)
  • Dy. Governor, Reserve Bank of India ( 1982-91)


  • Lifetime Achievement Award,  Financial Express, 2010
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Business World, 2010
  • D.Sc. Degree (Honoris Causa), University of Hyderabad, 2010.
  • National Corporate Award, India Corporate Week 2009.
  • Hall of Fame Award  presented by Outlook Money and NDTV, 2008
  • Ravi J. Mathai National Fellow Award, AIMS, 2007
  • Awarded Padma Vibhushan by the President of India in January, 2002
  • Alumni award for outstanding leadership by the Wharton India Economic Forum, University of Pennsylvania , 2002
  •  Award for Economics 1998 (The Financial Express award at the Annual Conference of the Indian Economic Association)
  • Finance Man of the Decade, Bombay Management Association, 1998.
  • Award of Excellence in Finance, Bank of India, 1998
  • Honorary Fellow, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, 1997
  • Business Man of the Year, Madras Management Association, 1997
Institutions Associated With:
  • President, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
  • Chairman, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy
  • Chairman, Madras School of Economics
  • Chairman, C.R. Rao Institute of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science, Hyderabad
  • Chairman, GENOME Foundation
  • President, CUTS Institute for Regulation & Competition

Committees Chaired:

  • Chairman, Committee to look into the Design of Future Production Sharing Contracts in Hydrocarbon Exploration. ( 2012)
  • Chairman, Committee on Deregulation of Sugar Sector (2012)
  • Chairman, Expert Group to Review the Methodology for Measuring Poverty. (2012)
  • Chairman, High Level Expert Committee to suggest measures for effective management of Public Expenditure,  Planning Commission (2011)
  • Chairman, Expert Group to formulate a Jobs Plan for Jammu and Kashmir formed by the Prime Minister (2011)
  • Chairman, High level Committee on Estimation of Saving and Investment (2007-09)
  • Chairman, Committee on Financial Inclusion (2006-08)
  • Chairman, Independent Commission on AIDS in Asia and Pacific, UNAIDS (2006-2008)
  • Chairman, Task force on Jammu and Kashmir, Constituted by PM (2005-06)
  • Chairman, Committee to Review the Statistical System in the Country (2000-01)

Academic Experience:

  • Professor of Economics, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad (1968-91)
  • Visiting Professor, New York University, Graduate School of Business Administration, New York (1972-73)
  • Visiting Associate Professor, New York University, Graduate School of Business Administration, New York (1966-68)
  • Professor of Economics, Indian Statistical Institute (Planning Unit), New Delhi (1956-66)
  • Reader, Rajasthan University, Jaipur (1964-65)
  • Lecturer, Wharton School of Finance and Commerce, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia (1963-64)
  • Lecturer, Loyola College, Madras (1954-58)
  • Fellow, International Food Policy Research Institute, Washington, 1981


  • Macro Economics and Monetary Policy, Issues for a Reforming Economy (Collection of Papers written in Honour of Dr. C. Rangarajan) Edited by Montek S. Ahluwalia, Y.V. Reddy and S.S. Tarapore, OUP, 2002.
  • Growth and Finance, Essays in Honour of Dr. C. Rangarajan, Edited by Sameer Kochhar, Skoch, 2011( Foreword by Dr. Manmohan Singh, PM of India, and Preface by P. Chidambaram)
Author and Co-Author of:
  • “Federalism and Fiscal Transfers in India”, (co-author), Oxford University Press, 2011
  • “Monetary Policy, Financial Stability and Other Essays”, Academic Foundation, 2009
  • “Select Essays on Indian Economy”, Academic Foundation, 2003
  • “Structural Reforms in Industry, Banking and Finance”, Institute of Southeast Asian Studies,  2000
  • “Perspective on Indian Economy”, UBS Publishers’ Distributors, 2000
  • “Indian Economy : Essays on Money and Finance”, UBS Publishers’ Distributors, 1998
  • “Agricultural Growth and Industrial Performance in India”, International Food Policy Research Institute, 1982
  • “Innovation in Banking”, Oxford and IBH, 1982
  • “Strategy for Industrial Development in the 80’s”, Oxford and IBH,  1981
  • “Principles of Macro Economics”, Tata McGraw-Hill,  1979
  • “Short-term Investment Forecasting”, (co-author), Macmillan, 1974